Palliative Paleo

I’m really on a roll with my alliterations! Michael and I have started the Paleo Diet. If you aren’t sure what that is, there is an awesome blog called PaleOMG that will explain it a lot better than I can and will probably be more inspirational than the things I have to say.

The basic premise is you eat like a caveman. If our great ancestors didn’t eat it, you don’t eat it. Except we’ve been grilling everything and I don’t think they had Weber back in the day, but I’m not an anthropologist so don’t take my word on that. No carbs, no dairy, no beans, no legumes, nothing processed, and no preservatives. We challenged ourselves to stick to it for two weeks, which will be up this Sunday.

So far, I have decided this diet is GOOFY. Yes, I have lost some weight, but that’s because everything I can eat is starting to disgust me so much I just take a few bites and call it a night. I’m also having violent thoughts towards people who get to eat carbs. I haven’t been blogging because I’m so bitter.

For breakfast, we usually have eggs. I’m starting to hate eggs.

Real cute though in the muffin tin.

Every other meal? Meat. I’m starting to hate meat. And don’t even get me started on almonds.

Match stick skewers

One night we decided to make skewered bacon-wrapped shrimp but then realized we didn’t have skewers….. (this diet also makes your brain fuzzy) Michael is such an engineer! He put those match sticks straight to use!

Salmon, sausage, shrimp and bacon.

TOO MUCH PROTEIN! NOT ENOUGH FRENCH FRIES AND ICE CREAM!

And now to the other P of this PP post…. HA! My palliative care preceptorship!

I’m really starting to enjoy seeing patients and palliative care isn’t as scary as it seemed. I put on my white coat and roll down those hospital hallways! (by roll I mean wander around trying to find the right room number while pretending to be confident)

Palliative care is awesome for the following reasons:

  • The patient does not care how goofy I look fishing through my notes. They don’t care because they aren’t conscious.
  • You don’t have to take a history. See above.
  • You only have to do a focused physical.
  • You get to hear really cool heart sounds.
  • You see compassion at its finest.
  • You don’t need clinical skills to make a difference. These patients have a problem list longer than this post that I understand very little of. Holding their hand is enough.

 

And now, a picture of my precious Milo!

I don’t understand his sleep positions. This is him snoozing vertical.

Leave a Reply

