My Favorite Medical Things

Milo’s selflessness yesterday in writing his “I’m grateful for….” list got me thinking.  I am over-the-top thankful for the obvious blessings in my life. Michael and I have a beautiful townhouse which we wouldn’t have been able to afford without the generosity of his parents. Michael has a secure job. I’m going to THE BEST (in my opinion) medical school in the country. We have a loyal, loving, occasionally-biting, goofball nut-bag (Milo) who was probably the best decision I have ever made.

I’m also grateful for anyone who adopts the older and/or abused animals from shelters because Michael won’t let me take home every dog from CAPS. However, once I make it big, this is in my plans.

Clara, adopted by my classmate Kendra.

Milo loves Clara, but Clara has hypothyroidism in addition to  a reasonable fear of my dog.

I complain about Medical school 95% of the time. It is hard. It makes me sleepy. It makes me feel dumb. But it is also an opportunity that I need to be immensely grateful for. So instead of always saying “ughghhghhhh, why do I need to know this???” and “ughhhghhghh, how do stethoscope work???” I’m going to try to BE THANKFUL!!!! Copying Milo, here is a list of my favorite medical things!

  • You get to wear a white coat! When you wear it, people think that you are smart and/or capable! It is my goal to become both of these things.
  • As a medical student you get to spend the most time with patients out of everyone on your team. It’s because you have the least amount of responsibilities. It’s for the best.
  • You start to understand episodes of “House”.
  • You can give medical advice to family members.
  • You develop a deep camaraderie with your classmates and future colleagues.
  • Everyone around is either as nerdy or more nerdy than you. (Good for your self-esteem)
  • The medical center is AWESOME and you feel in awe that you are a part of it.
  • Saving lives is cool!

One time my sister-in-law fell and scraped up her knee. Once I had my white coat on, I flew into action!

Hello Kitty bandaids!

Leave a Reply

